Ensemble Salomone Rossi

The Ensemble Salomone Rossi, founded by Lydia Cevidalli in 1991 has to its credit performances in Italy and abroad, among the most important, in Belgium at the Concertgebouw of Bruges and the Castle of Chimay, in Spain at the Real Academia de Bellas Artes of Madrid, with live broadcasting for the Spanish National Radio, in the United States at Montclair State University, Istanbul and Belgrad.

In 2009, the Ensemble recorded the CD “Jewish Baroque Music” edited by Concerto Classics, which received excellent reviews and presentations on the Italian leading music magazines and newspapers: Amadeus, Suonare News and IlSole24ore, as well as presentations on various national and private radio stations, including Radio3suite and Radio3 Piazzaverdi. In 2012 and 2018, the CD was re-printed.

In recent years, the Ensemble has participated in the soundtrack for the documentary “Sacred Spaces, Synagogues, Absence and Presence” directed by Celia Loewenstein; recorded the music for the BBC documentary, “The Story of the Jews“; played in Rome for the Qurinale Concerts, with live broadcast of the concert, by National Radio3. Moreover, the Ensemble performed in Cremona, at the Museum of Instruments for the review “Il violinista sul tetto”, in Venice at the Ugo and Olda Levi Foundation, in Bergamo in the Basilica of S. Maria Maggiore for Effettobibbia, in Parma in the Sala Maria Luigia of the Palatine Library, in Ascona (Switzerland), and Triest.

The Ensemble is planning the recording of the 50 Psalms from “L’Estro poetico-armonico” by Benedetto Marcello. In 2018 the first CD “Salmi e Sonate di Benedetto Marcello“, published by Concerto Classics, was released; it was presented to the Radio3 programs “Primo movimento” and “La Stanza della Musica“, at Radio Classica, Radio Sole24ore and Radio Vaticana. It obtained excellent reviews and presentations on the Italian leading music magazines and newspapers:  Amadeus, Repubblica, Chi musica and Avvenire.

In 2021 the CD “Benedetto Marcello, Psalms and Sonatas” was released by Dynamic